Will Kimbrough and Jimmy Buffett


As a song writer, it must be great to have someone like Jimmy Buffett record your work. But it’s gone farther than that for Will Kimbrough. Seems he’s been working with Jimmy of late. I had heard some rumors to that effect, but never got the chance to look into it very deeply. Today I ran across the following answer in an interview that asked Will if he’d done any traveling with Buffett:

Will:

A little bit, yeah. I went to the Caribbean to write songs with Buffett, but only for one day really, or a day and a half. I was playing a show in Nashville, and then I had to be in New York two days later, and he called me at the last minute and said, “I’m in St. Barts, do you want to write?” and I said “Sure.” I played the show in Nashville and got up at four o’clock in the morning to catch the earliest flight, flew down to St. Barts, set up and started working on songs. He had some things he started and wanted to finish with me, and I had some things I started and wanted to play for him. We ended up with three songs out of that day and a half. They didn’t get finished that day, but they got close, and we got some demos. Actually, some of the recordings he did on his laptop will end up on his new record. That’s fun stuff.

Another trip was that he had a gig in the Caribbean, and he called me to sub for his regular guitarist, Peter Mayer. He had some recording sessions in England and in Muscle Shoals and Nashville, and I worked on all those. We also did a show in London, which was the first time he’d played a full show Jimmy Buffett and the Coral Reefers Band in England ever. He’s played solo twice over the years for a TV show or a benefit. That was fun to be a part of. Some of it was with him, most of it was on my own and a little bit of it was with Rodney Crowell.

Leave a Reply

