Jimmy’s New Album – Part I: “First Things First”


A lot of thoughts and memories flow through my head when I hear a New Jimmy Buffett Album is coming out. Thoughts of where I was when I first listened to one of his new albums?  And  questions too. Like just how many albums has Jimmy put out? Which ones do you count? Live Albums? Compilation Albums? Does a Movie Sound Track Album like Rancho  Deluxe count? What about pre-ABC/Dunhill like High Cumberland Jubilee or Down to Earth? Do you count Christmas Albums? How many songs has Jimmy recorded? Who joined  Jimmy in writing any of  the new songs? Was it a collaboration? Where do I buy it? Do I just download  it? I could go on and on.

That’s why I like this Blog format. I don’t have to address it all. I don’t have to do a complete article or review. All I have to do is put down my thoughts that I have time for on any particular  day.  So it is that I did first things first. I downloaded the Buffet Hotel from iTunes.

With that, I’m going to spend what time I have to spare tonight listening to it. I can’t wait to hear his version of Nobody From No Where and compare it to Will Kimbrough and Tommy Womack’s version. And I really liked Rumba Man the one time I heard it on Radio Margaitaville. The iTunes download came with a huge Digital Booklet too. You can bet I’m going to read the heck out of that.

This is the perfect time for you new followers of this Blog to start contributing with your view of the new album to. So while I give it a listen, you get your copy and let’s share our thoughts.

Jackson

2 Comments to “Jimmy’s New Album – Part I: “First Things First””

  1. It’s different. I’m going to have to listen to a few more times and let it sink in. I like “A lot to drink about.” a lot, but I’ve been listening to it since he posted the Mville Cafe performance awhile back. Same with Summerzcool, the rest I need to listen to some more.

  2. I know what you mean Bob. I didn’t get to listen to every song. I suggest Nobody from No where, Surfin’ In a Hurricane, and the Jesse Winchester cover Rhumba Man. Remember the days of CD Release Parties? I wonder if they still have them? I also remember getting advance copies of the CD. But with this one, many had already been played all summer, and add to that I’ve been listening to Will Kimbrough sing Nobody from Nowhere over and over for the past month or so.

    All in all a real different experience. Though it was the first time I got a copy of the album the day it was out in a long time.

Leave a Reply

